Weekend results: 4th-5th February

All roads lead to Dungarvan and Mt. Hillary this week for Munster races.


Photo cred DC Images

Dungarvan 10 mile race is now a stable on the running calendar with clubs all over the country making their way down this this beautiful town. Every runner that arrived that day were met with perfect conditions, some have even said it was the best conditions they have ever ran the race in. A fantastic 2740 crossed the finish line on the day which was up over 300 runners from last year. PBs was the word of the day as most people seem to take advantage of the conditions, including our own Brian Ahern who ran a pb with “so little training”. These are days that we runners only dream of and luckily for some they got experience it.

The race itself was was won by William Maunsell in a strong display by the Clonmel AC man, There was plenty for the locals to shout about with West Waterford athlete David McCarthy taking 2nd place, and a last minute decision to decide to race paid off for Conor McCauley as the Leevale man rounded off the podium.

Photo Cred DC Images

00:49:52 00:49:52 3496 M MS Clonmel A.C.
00:51:04 00:51:04 3467 M MS West Waterford AC
00:51:26 00:51:26 1855 M MS Leevale AC

The ladies race was won by Mary Mulhare and she did so in style, a large margin of victory showed her class on the day and crossed the line in a fantastic 55.48, Sally Forristal break the magical 60 min barrier and was able to hold off Aoife O Leary of Sportsworld RC who wasn’t to far behind in 3rd place.

Photo Cred DC Images

00:55:48 00:55:48 3389 F FS Portlaoise AC
00:59:33 00:59:34 2226 F FS St Joesphs AC
01:00:19 01:00:19 3392 F F40 Sportsworld RC

Full results available: HERE

Mt. Hillary:

Photo Credit: Mick Dooley

IMRA moved to MT Hillary for their adventures this week, there was 113 runners on the long course and 11 runners on the short course. One a lovely morning for a race there was plenty of great running by the 224 runners who took to the hills and mud.

Photo Credit: Mick Dooley

The men’s race was a close battle with Jordan Richards taking the win, very shortly after David Sheedy crossed the line to take 2nd, but the closest battle of all was the race for 3rd place with Tom Blackburn taking the podium spot by 2 seconds over Danny O Connell.

1 Jordan Richards 1387 M 0:41:59 100% N Cork
2 David Sheedy 252 M 0:42:44 102% N Cork
3 Tom Blackburn 627 M55 0:43:35 104% N Mooreabbey … Limerick

Photo Credit: Mick Dooley

In the Ladies Michelle Kenny once again showed she a able to contend on any surface as the Leevale athlete controlled the race from the start, Michelle is in the form of her life at the moment and is tough for anyone to get the better of her at the moment. Anna Borowska of Mallow AC put in a great run to finish 2nd overall followed by Clonmel AC athlete Kealey Tideswell who finished off the podium.

10 Michelle Kenny 485 F40 0:45:01 107% N Leevale Cork
21 Anna Borkowska 756 F45 0:49:32 118% N Mallow AC Cork
35 Kealey Tideswell 560 F40 0:52:22 125% N Clonmel AC Tipperary

Full results available: HERE


There was 27 Parkruns across Munster on Saturday, with a brilliant 2580 people taking part, and countless number of volunteers. Parkruns are a fantastic way to get out and run or walk with friends and family. If you cant do either on the day make sure to put your name down for volunteering as with the help these events cannot go ahead.

Here is the first across the line from each county in Munster for this weekend:


Tramore Valley

John Durcan Togher AC 16.11

Orla Byrne St Finbarrs 18.24



Tim Long An Riocht 17.38


Abby Stephenson Spa Fenit Barrow 20.03


Lees Road

Jamie Kelly Ennis track club 16.45

Niamh Markham Ennis track club 18.14



Dermot J Gorman Carrick on Suit 17.37

Janet Quinlan 22.11



Niall o Riordan 17.52


Pamela Kirby 20.46



Alex Crowley 17.50

Fethard Town

Carmel Fitgibbon 19.40

Full results from all Munster Parkruns can be found here: HERE

Posted in News, Results.